In accordance with Illinois law, the names of prospective jurors are obtained from the DuPage County Election Commission, Illinois Secretary of State and the Illinois Department of Employment Security.
Your name was randomly drawn by computer from a combined list of DuPage County residents who hold an Illinois driver’s license, State of Illinois Identification Card or Illinois Person with a Disability Card holder, aged 18 and older, also persons who have received unemployment compensation in the past 12 months, as well as registered voters.
To serve as a juror you must be:
- At least 18 years old
- A United States citizen
- Have a DuPage County address
- Be able to understand the English language
You are eligible to be called for service once every twelve months.
If you are summoned as a Trial juror, also known as a Petit juror, you will serve either for the length of one trial or one day.
If you are summoned as a Regular Grand or a Supplemental Grand juror your service will be at the minimum for that day.
If you are selected to serve on the Grand Jury, your service will be one day a week for a three-month period (approximately 13 days).
The average trial is 2 to 3 days. However, there are trials that can last longer or shorter than the average. At the end of the day, if you are not selected to hear a trial or assigned to a courtroom for jury selection, you will be released and discharged from your service by the Jury Commission staff. Once selected as a juror to hear a case, you will be dismissed by the Judge at the conclusion of the trial.
You should anticipate and make all necessary arrangements for a full business day, until approximately 4:30 p.m. However, the day can go longer if you are involved in a late afternoon jury selection or you are a juror actually hearing a case. If selected as a juror to hear a case the trial judge will inform you of the daily schedule for that trial.
Business or business casual attire is the most appropriate. T-shirts and shorts are not appropriate. Extremes in dress may cause you to be sent home and rescheduled for service.
There is free parking in the garage (509 N. County Farm Road) or in the parking lot located to the east side of the Judicial Center. Please follow the signs that will direct you to "Court Business Parking".
The DuPage County Judicial Center is a secured facility. All persons entering are subject to search. Do not bring items such as video tape recorders, cameras, firearms, knives, scissors, chemical sprays, metal belts, work tools, glass water bottles/containers or anything that could be considered a weapon.
You are welcome to bring personal items such as cell phones, laptops, I-Pods, books, newspapers or magazines. The Jury Commission provides free wireless internet access for those with wireless laptop computers. Due to security precautions, please note that if you bring a cell phone and/or laptop computer with camera capabilities, you must bring your jury summons and photo identification to gain entrance to the Judicial Center. However, all of those items must remain in the Jury Lounge if you are assigned to a courtroom. There are a limited number of lockers available to secure these items. If you are required to carry a syringe for medical reasons, please contact the Jury Commission prior to your date of service for further instructions.
No, childcare is not provided.
Only rarely is a jury "sequestered". If sequestered, the Court will provide meals, lodging and the retrieval of jurors’ required personal items for them from their homes.
In case of emergency a message can be left with the Jury Commission staff at 630-407-8785.
Lunch is not provided; it is on your own. There is a cafeteria located within the Jury Lounge. There are also a number of restaurants located within a short drive of the Judicial Center. You may go home for lunch if you live close enough to be back at the time directed.
As established by the DuPage County Board, jurors receive $10 for their first day of service and $15 per day for any subsequent days of service as well as mileage at the current rate.
For Petit jury service, you will receive a check on the day of your service. However, if you are selected to serve on a jury, a check with the remaining portion will be mailed to your summons address approximately 10 to 14 days after the completion of your service. For Grand Jury, a check will be mailed to your summons address approximately 10-14 days after the completion of your service.
Attached to your service payment will be certificate indicating the dates of service, the number of days served and the fees paid.
Employers are not required by law to compensate employees while they are on jury duty. Please check with your employer regarding your company’s policy.
Illinois law requires that your employer give you the time off for jury service. No employer can discharge, threaten to discharge, intimidate or coerce any employee for attendance at jury duty. An employer that does may be charged with civil and / or criminal contempt and will be liable for damages. A juror encountering this situation should contact the Jury Commission at phone number listed below.
Illinois law provides that an employer may not deny an employee time off for attendance at jury duty because an employee is assigned to work a night shift. An employer cannot require a night shift worker to work while the employee is doing jury service in the daytime. An employer that does may be charged with civil and / or criminal contempt and will be liable for damages. A juror encountering this situation should contact the Jury Commission at phone number listed below.
Please check with your employer regarding your company’s policy.
Yes, you may request a short one time postponement of your jury service. Requests can be submitted by e-mail to firstname.lastname@example.org
, through this website via I-Juror, by U.S. mail by filling out the form provided in your summons or by telephone at 630-407-8785.
Excusals must be submitted by email at email@example.com
, by FAX at 630-407-8789 or by returning the juror response form to the Office of the Jury Commission by U.S. mail. Please provide proper documentation with your excusal request, such as an updated Driver’s License, State ID, or voter registration card for proof that you no longer live in DuPage County. If you are not a United States citizen, please provide verification of non-citizenship (Alien Registration Card, Visa, Passport, Matricula) with your written excusal request. Each excusal request will be considered individually. Also, if you are under the age of 70 years old and have a medical condition that would prohibit your ability to serve as a juror, please provide a letter from your doctor.
There are no occupational or student exemptions from jury service. You may request a short postponement of your service to allow you the opportunity to arrange your work or school schedule. Students attending classes out of the area can request a postponement to the next school break.
The Jury Commission recognizes that jury service can sometimes create personal or occupational hardships. The Jury Commission staff will work with you to select a service date, within a short period of time, which may be less of a hardship.
The majority of jurors will complete their service in one day. During the process of jury selection, you will have the opportunity to explain your personal situation to the Court. You may have to explain your situation in more than one courtroom. At the end of the day, if you are not selected to hear a trial or assigned to a courtroom for jury selection, you will be released and discharged from your service.
In order to serve as a juror you must be at least 18 years old. There is no upper age limit for service. However, if because of advanced age there is a medical or physical reason that prevents you from serving, you may request to be excused from service. All requests must be submitted in writing on the form provided in your summons. Each request will be considered individually. Please provide as much information as possible so that an appropriate decision can be made.
You must have a DuPage County address in order to serve as a juror. Please use the form provided with your summons to be excused from service. All requests must also provide verification of move through either an updated driver’s license or voter card.
There are a number of communities that are in more than one county. On occasion, we will summon someone who does not reside in DuPage County. Please send back the form provided in your summons and request to be excused from service. Make sure you indicate that the address is correct however not within DuPage County.
You must be a citizen of the United States in order to serve. Please use the form provided with your summons to be excused from service. All requests must also include verification of non-citizenship (Alien Registration Card, Visa, Passport, Matricula).
A pending court case or a criminal conviction does not exempt you from being a member of the jury pool. During the jury selection process, the Judge and the attorneys will determine whether you are eligible to serve as a juror on that specific case.
You can telephone the Jury Commission staff at 630- 407-8785, Monday through Friday, 8:00AM until 4:30PM (except for court holidays).
Office of the Jury Commission
505 North County Farm Road
Wheaton, Illinois 60187